Countdown to Philadelphia!

chop-exterior3-lgWe’re counting down to the 1st Annual FPIES Education Conference–less than one week away! Today, our Travel Grant recipient Shaula Brown shares her thoughts and two videos as she prepares to make the trip to Philadelphia. Like so many FPIES parents, Shaula has a long list of questions she hopes to have answered. The conference includes two Q&A sessions where FPIES families can have their general questions answered by our panel of speakers. Thanks for sharing your journey with us, Shaula!

Hi! My name is Shaula Brown, and I am the recipient of the 2013 FPIES Education Conference Travel Grant. I have one son, Ryan, who is 8.5 months old and was diagnosed with FPIES at 5.5 months after many months of suspected reflux and dairy allergy. He is currently FPIES to dairy, soy, rice, squash, and sweet potatoes.

I’m very excited to have the opportunity to travel to the conference from my home in Colorado with the help of the IAFFPE. We are new to this journey, and I have so many questions I hope we can get answered. In particular, I am looking forward to the session “Clinical Management: From Diagnosis to Food Challenges”— I am always curious about how we should be trialing foods at home and what to expect as we continue into hospital trials with some of my son’s bigger fails.

VIDEO 1: Shaula Prepares for FPIES Conference: Questions About Food Trials

I am also interested in the session on “Filling the Nutritional Gaps.” Ryan currently has only one safe food plus his elemental formula. I hope to learn more about good, nutritious things to trial and introduce. I am also hoping to get more information about how to keep him safe when he is away from me, whether it’s at school as he gets older, at his grandparents, or with a babysitter. I am always worried he will be given something or he will find a way to accidentally ingest something he shouldn’t.

VIDEO 2: Shaula Prepares for FPIES Conference: Questions About Medicine

I know these are the same questions and fears many of us have as FPIES parents, and it will be wonderful to meet others who share this experience. I am not only thrilled to have the opportunity to attend the FPIES Education Conference, but I’m also looking forward to sharing the information I learn with Ryan’s doctors, family, friends, and other parents of children with FPIES. Thank you for the opportunity!

There’s still time to reserve your spot for the 2013 FPIES Education Conference on October 20th in Philadephia. For our friends who can’t make it, you can still connect with us on Twitter (@iaffpe) for live tweeting under the handle #fpiesconf. And we’ll be posting updates here on Facebook throughout the day. You can also submit your general FPIES questions to contact@iaffpe.org for the two Q&A sessions with our panel of experts.

We hope to see you next Sunday!

Leave a Reply

